Shinzo Abe, SPB, Tarun Gogoi, Ram Vilas Paswan, Keshubhai Patel, Sumitra Mahajan among Padma Awardees

Padma Awards – one of the highest civilian Awards of the country, are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.

The Awards are given in various disciplines/ fields of activities, viz.- art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc.

‘Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service;

‘Padma Bhushan’ for distinguished service of high order and ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field.

The awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year.

These awards are conferred by the President of India at ceremonial functions which are held at Rashtrapati Bhawan usually around March/ April every year.

This year the President has approved conferment of 119 Padma Awards including 1 duo case (in a duo case, the Award is counted as one) as per list below.

The list comprises 7 Padma Vibhushan, 10 Padma Bhushan and 102 Padma Shri Awards. 

29 of the awardees are women and the list also includes 10 persons from the category of Foreigners/NRI/PIO/OCI, 16 Posthumous awardees and 1 transgender awardee.

Padma Vibhushan (7)

 Shri Shinzo AbePublic AffairsJapan
 Shri S P Balasubramaniam(Posthumous)ArtTamil Nadu
 Dr. Belle Monappa HegdeMedicineKarnataka
 Shri Narinder Singh Kapany(Posthumous)Science and EngineeringUnited States of America
 Maulana Wahiduddin KhanOthers- SpiritualismDelhi
 Shri B. B. LalOthers- ArchaeologyDelhi
 Shri Sudarshan SahooArtOdisha

Padma Bhushan (10)

 Ms. Krishnan Nair Shantakumari ChithraArtKerala
 Shri Tarun Gogoi(Posthumous)Public AffairsAssam
 Shri Chandrashekhar KambaraLiterature and EducationKarnataka
 Ms. Sumitra MahajanPublic AffairsMadhya Pradesh
 Shri Nripendra MisraCivil ServiceUttar Pradesh
 Shri Ram Vilas Paswan(Posthumous)Public AffairsBihar
 Shri Keshubhai Patel(Posthumous)Public AffairsGujarat
 Shri Kalbe Sadiq(Posthumous)Others-SpiritualismUttar Pradesh
 Shri Rajnikant Devidas ShroffTrade and IndustryMaharashtra
 Shri Tarlochan SinghPublic AffairsHaryana

Click here to view the list of Padma Shri Awardees

Leave a Reply